Acacia Lodge Awards

Dr. Albert E. Austin Meritorious Service Award

This medal was commissioned in 2019 to be awarded to not more than one Brother per year at the discretion of the Worshipful Master for "distinguished service rendered to Freemasonry, whether locally, regionally or internationally." It may or may not be awarded each year. The Award is named after Right Worshipful Brother Albert E. Austin, who served as Worshipful Master of Acacia Lodge No. 85 from 1920 through 1924 (five consecutive years) and as District Deputy of the First Masonic District of Connecticut for 1927 and 1928. In 1939, he was the first of only three members of our Lodge to be coroneted a 33rd Degree in the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite of the NMJ. His Masonic memberships and accolades are as extensive as his dedication to the Craft; and is the reason this award is named is his honor. 


James J. Fahy - 2020

Ralph DelVecchio Jr. - 2021

Michel R. Gomez - 2022

Warren J. Dennison Community Service Award

This is an award given annually to a dedicated member of the Greenwich community who has served above and beyond, and can be a non-Mason.  The award is named after another community servant who dedicated his life to the greater good of Greenwich, Right Worshipful Brother Warren J. Dennison.  He served as Worshipful Master in 1979 and 1981, District Deputy of Masonic District 1A for 1985 and 1986, and was awarded the Pierpont Edwards Medal in Bronze in 1994 by the Grand Lodge of Connecticut, among many awards and presiding offices in other Masonic bodies. He was also very active in the First Congregational Church in Old Greenwich, Greenwich Council BSA and Silver Beaver recipient, the Lions Club, and many others, which is why this award is named in his honor. 


James J. Heavey - 2020

The Staff and Volunteers of Neighbor to Neighbor - 2022

Hon. David N. Theis Teaching Award of Excellence

Annual Award to a teacher who shows outstanding dedication to enriching the youth of Greenwich in the  Public Schools. A $1000 Award is given along with a plaque commemorating their achievement. 

Mason of the Year

This is a yearly award given to the Brother who shows sincere dedication to the Lodge without the hope of fee or reward. 


Philip V. Peluso - 2020

Mark E. Zuccarella - 2022

Year Increment Pins

These pins are awarded yearly to those Brothers who are at a 5 year increment in their Masonic membership (5, 10, 15... etc.) except for the 50 and 75 year awards which are presented by the Grand Lodge of Connecticut. 

Grand Lodge Awards

Pierpont Edwards Medal

The Pierpont Edwards Medal is the Highest Award given to a Brother by the Grand Lodge of Connecticut. It was first conferred upon ten outstanding Masons at the Special Communication of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge in New Haven, Connecticut on October 14, 1939, the culmination of the 150th anniversary observance of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge, A.F. & A.M. of Connecticut. It may be awarded in Bronze to a deserving Brother, or in Silver to those who have served as Grand Master.

Bronze Recipients

John B. Loughlin - 1949

Frederick W. Hummel - 1961

Warren J. Dennison - 1994

R. Scott Sargeant - 2018

David Wooster Medal

The David Wooster Medal was struck in 1973 to recognize “service other than to Freemasonry in the fields of art, science, business, government, entertainment, religion, or other service to humanity.” Two castings were approved, one in silver for Master Masons, and one in bronze for non-Masons. No more than two Silver and two Bronze may be given in any one year. The Medal honors the Revolutionary War hero, Brigadier General David Wooster (1711-1777). who gave up his royal commission in the French and Indian Wars to command a Connecticut militia, first in New York and Long Island during the summer of 1775, and finally in Danbury where he died defending a supply depot against a British raiding force. 

Silver Recipient

Acacia Lodge No. 85 - 1994

Perfect Ashlar Award

This program is for Brothers who have not yet attained membership for 1 complete year. The design of the program is to introduce a variety of aspects of Masonry in an organized manner. It will lead him, step by step, through some very fundamental and rewarding endeavors/labors which will assist you in the practice and understanding of Masonry. 


Douglas J. Huron - 2014

David A. DiSalvo - 2023